Uncategorized

An open letter to all airlines who serve passengers with invisible illnesses

This post was heartbreaking to read and is a perfect example of how much someone can be mistreated with an invisible illness. What a brave and courageous lady!

The Disclosed

I have an invisible illness. That means that I, along with thousands of others, suffer in silence most of the time.

It means that able-bodied privilege is not only all around me but that I’m hyper aware of it as most of the world assumes I am just like them. I’ve learned to live with my invisible illness and work with it but recently I had an experience that was a slap in the face to myself and anyone who constantly hears ‘But you don’t look sick!’

I am a 3-time cancer survivor facing heart failure and implanted with a Left-Ventricular-Assist-Device or LVAD to help circulate my blood. An artificial heart to put it in simple terms. And I’m relatively young at 35. Piercings, pink hair, pink cheeks, and a pretty smile so I don’t expect people to automatically know how ill I am.

I make efforts to not look…

View original post 2,180 more words

2 thoughts on “An open letter to all airlines who serve passengers with invisible illnesses

Leave a Reply

